• Epibate type

There are three types of caudal fin: epibatic - the upper lobe is larger than the lower lobe (sharks, sturgeon); isobatic - equal lobes (herring, roach, salmon); and hypobatic - the lower lobe is larger than the upper lobe (flying fish).

Epibate type of caudal fin - the upper lobe of the caudal fin is longer than the lower one. Observed in sturgeons and sharks.

Write a comment

Note: HTML is not translated!
    Bad           Good

Epibate type

Tags: epibate type